Savory Cumin – Peppercorn Crackers | Healthy, Vegan Snack

Cumin Crackers

I can’t believe it is September already. It feels like just yesterday that I made my ‘New Year Resolutions’. One resolution that always makes it to my list is to ‘exercise more and eat healthier’ than I did the previous year. And I am happy that I always manage to do that, even if I don’t stick to the other resolutions that I make.

The one indulgence that I couldn’t do without up until a few years ago was crunchy fried snacks. I love munching on crunchy snack food pretty much any time of the day. I was craving some a few days ago, but since they are unhealthy, I skipped the deep-frying and baked them with a light brushing of oil. And guess what, I realized that they are the best snack to have at home for those days that anyone feels like eating deep-fried munchies. They make a great tea-time snack, and I also like to crush them and add them to my food when it needs that extra crunch.

And since the cumin-peppercorn combination is a much loved blend at the foodie household, I didn’t think twice about what I was going to flavor the crackers with!

Cumin Crackers

Savory Cumin - Peppercorn Crackers

  • Servings: 32
  • Print

Ingredients:
  • Whole Wheat Flour – 1/2 cup
  • All Purpose Flour/ Maida – 1/2 cup
  • Semolina/Sooji – 1/4 cup
  • Canola Oil – 2 and 1/2 tablespoons + for brushing the crackers
  • Cumin Seeds / Jeera – 1 teaspoon
  • Crushed Black Pepper – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Fresh Curry Leaves, chopped – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Baking Soda – 1/8 teaspoon
  • Salt – to taste
  • Water (to knead) – 6 tablespoons
Instructions:
  1. Preheat the oven to 350° F (180° C) and line a baking tray with parchment paper.
  2. Add all the ingredients (except water) to a mixing bowl. Add water one tablespoon at a time till the mixture forms a firm dough. If you feel that it requires more water, feel free to add it, but make sure that the dough is not sticky.
  3. Knead the dough for a few minutes till you get a firm but smooth dough.
  4. Divide the dough into 4 equal parts. Roll out each part to 3-4mm thickness and using a round cookie cutter, cut circles.
  5.  Place the circles on the baking tray and using a fork, poke holes in each circle.
  6. Brush each circle with oil and bake at 350° F (180° C) for 10 to 12 minutes and flip the crackers. Bake again for 10 to 12 minutes, till the crackers are golden grown in color.
  7. Once done, remove from the oven and let them cool on the tray for 5 minutes before transferring them onto a cooling rack.
  8. Let the crackers reach room temperature before storing them in an airtight container.

Nutrition Per Serving*: Calories – 29; Fat – 1 gram; Protein – 1 gram; Carbs – 4 grams; Fiber – 0 grams

NOTE:

  • The original recipe can be found here and it is for mathri (a deep fried Indian snack). But since these are baked, they taste and feel more like crackers than mathri, which is usually flaky in texture.
  • You can add 1 cup of All Purpose Flour (APF) to make the dough instead of 1/2 cup of APF and 1/2 cup of Whole Wheat Flour. But the nutritional value will change accordingly.
  • The flavor of pepper in these crackers is very mild. The quantity of pepper can be adjusted as per one’s liking.
  • I did not have a round cookie cutter, so I used the top of a steel jar which was around 2 inches in diameter. The servings and nutrition are based on this 2 inch circle and will vary based on the cutter used.
  • *Nutritional information from MyFitnessPal

I am sharing this at Angie’s Fiesta Friday #84, co-hosted by Effie @ Food Daydreaming and Steffi @ Ginger & Bread

29 thoughts on “Savory Cumin – Peppercorn Crackers | Healthy, Vegan Snack

  1. Beautiful, Ranjana, doesn’t even describe these! I absolutely love the flavours and the fact that they’re crunchy – never mind the health benefits 😉
    Thank you so much for bringing these along to FF – bet you there all gone already 😉
    Happy FF,
    Ginger

    Like

Leave a comment