Brownie Coconut Macaroons (Egg-less)

Brownie Coconut Macaroons

What do you do when something that you cooked fails? You turn it into something that’s delish! And that’s exactly what I did. Lately, I have been having problems with baking fudgy brownies. I suspected it to be the bake-ware that I use (a glass dish), but just to make sure that it wasn’t my recipes that were the problem, I picked up a box-mix. Although I am not a ‘box-mix’ kind of person, I did use it here. And I am glad I did, because now I know where the problem lies.

So, to continue with my brownie saga, I seem to have no problems with the cake-y brownies, it’s just the fudgy ones that don’t seem to ‘set’ the way they are supposed to. So when I tried baking a box-mix brownie, the same thing happened. It was a little too ‘liquid-y’ if I must say. The foodie gave one look at it and asked me to trash it. But I just didn’t want to. So I rummaged through my baking supplies and found a packet of coconut flakes. And I had half a can of condensed milk lying in the refrigerator. So I just knew I had to make some coconut macaroons with brownies in them. And I must say, the foodie was a convert when he saw what I had turned the ‘brownie’ into!

Do you all face problems with baked items at times? If so, which ones?

P.S: I almost didn’t post this recipe, since I felt that the lighting in the pic was not alright, but the foodie said it was good to go.

Brownie Coconut Macaroons

  • Servings: 12 macaroons
  • Print

Ingredients:
  • 1 box Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate Brownie Mix – Baked as per instructions
  • Unsweetened Coconut Flakes – 5 oz
  • Fat Free Sweetened Condensed Milk – 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoon
  • All Purpose Flour/ Maida – 4 tablespoon
  • Vanilla Extract – 1 teaspoon
  • Salt – 1/8 teaspoon
Instructions:
  1. Using a 1/2 tablespoon measure, scoop out the brownie and using your palms, form brownie balls. Place these in the refrigerator till you prepare the coconut mixture..
  2. In a mixing bowl, add the coconut flakes, flour, salt and mix well.
  3. Next add the condensed milk, vanilla extract and fold it into the coconut mixture, till thoroughly incorporated.
  4. Line a baking tray with parchment paper and preheat the oven to 325°F.
  5. Take the brownies out of the refrigerator, and using well oiled palms, cover the coconut mixture over each brownie ball.
  6. Place the formed macaroons on the lined baking tray, and bake them for 15 to 20 minutes or until the macaroons turn slightly brown.
  7. Remove the macaroons from the oven and place them on a cooling rack until they reach room temperature.

Nutrition Per Serving(brownie not included)*: Calories – 138; Fat – 7 grams; Protein – 2 grams; Carbs – 16 grams; Fiber – 2 grams

NOTE:

  • Although the box-mix calls for the use of an egg, I substituted it with flax-seed meal.
  • I did not make use of the whole ‘box-mix’ brownie, so you might want to double or triple the coconut macaroon ingredients based on how many brownie balls can be made. The recipe in this post makes 12 such macaroons.
  • I also do not have the calorie count for the brownies for the same reason. The nutrition per serving will be updated the next time I make these macaroons.
  • *Nutritional information from MyFitnessPal

 

4 thoughts on “Brownie Coconut Macaroons (Egg-less)

Leave a Reply

